Please click on logo to return to Main Website







"The general purpose of a Community Council shall be to ascertain, co ordinate and express to
the local authorities for its area, and to public authorities, the views of the community which it represents, in relation to matters for which those authorities are responsible, and to take such action in the interests of that community as appears to it to be expedient and practicable. Community Councils are encouraged to promote community participation and a sense of
community spirit within their community." From Fife Council Statutory Consultation 2009.

Council Members are:

Gordon Ball
David Brown
Ian Cameron
Carol Drysdale
Stephen Lohoar
Ian Paul
David Scott


From whom the following Office Bearers were Appointed:

Chairman:  Gordon Ball
Vice Chair: Vacant
Secretary: Carol Drysdale (Temp)
Treasurer: David Brown

Cameron Community Council is an independent, statutory, public body run by volunteers.
They, the councillors, must comply with legal requirements as stated by Local and National Authority, and are publicly accountable. They have the authority, vested in legislation, to undertake any activity in the interest of their community that they consider necessary - a general power of competence - as well as coordinating and expressing the views of their community to any other authority.

All community councillors give of their time freely and without remuneration.

Community Councils are consulted on planning issues and are recognised by other public
bodies as being representative of their local community.

Community Councillors are democratically elected.

As well as providing statutory consultative functions community councils provide important community involvement in local projects and social events.

Community Councils form a focal point for the views of the local community.

Many Community Councils, including Cameron have now gone beyond their original remit and are actively involved in issues of environment, tourism and promotion of local business.





Return to main website